God Will Give Us More Than We Can Handle

God doesn’t tell us that he won’t give us more than we can handle. If that was the case then why would we believe and trust in God? Don’t we call to him when the world gives us too much and we are overwhelmed? Through God we can go all things. When we trust in him, that is where we find peace and he gives us strength.
“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:11-13

Read:

http://www.relevantmagazine.com/god/yes-god-will-give-you-more-you-can-handle

This notion that believing in God makes our lives suddenly perfect is a lie. I am not saying he is not a perfect God, just that this world we live in is not perfect. That is the lie. It is filled with sin which we need to know because it is filled with temptation and suffering. God gives us a way out and he protects us and always has a plan for us. When we are put in a position for temptation, he give us a way out. As the article said, that does not go the same for suffering. As Christians we will and are called to suffer. That may make a non-believer question why on earth you would want to be apart of something you know you will suffer. For me, I see it as a blessing. I have a God who I can trust to get me through these things and by trusting and calling out to him, he knows that I do trust him and how much I need him. He already knows this, but acknowledging him, he feels us with peace, strength, and he guides us.

Just look up John 14:27, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” Jesus gives us peace! He came to this earth, relieved us of the penalty of sin and then gifts us with peace. Then going to Isaiah 30:15 says, “This is what the Sovereign Lord, the Holy One of Israel, says: ‘In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength, but you would have none of it.'” When you see someone seeking a quiet place or even being quiet, that is a strong person. Holding your tongue and listening, that is strength. God calls us to be quiet and seek a quiet place so we can spend time with him seek him and hear him. “Quietness and trust is you strength” I pray that throughout your day you do not forget that.

When we do reach those moments of spiritual battle, we have an amazing and awesome God who knows that in this world we are in a constant battle. “For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” – 2 Corinthians 10:3-5, God makes sure that we can fight away evil and that we are constantly protected and guarding our hearts and mind. Knowing God’s Word and spending time with him is how we can stay strong through these battles. Remember to stand firm!

I now shall leave you with this, “Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. Pray also for me, that whenever I speak, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.” Ephesians 6:10-20

 

2 thoughts on “God Will Give Us More Than We Can Handle

Leave a Reply

